Charity sector features heavily in Queen’s Birthday Honours » Charity Digital News

Charity sector features heavily in Queen’s Birthday Honours

A number of people form the charity sector have had their efforts rewarded in the Queen’s Birthday Honours.

In its announcements regarding the awards, The Cabinet Office said that of the 1,149 people recognised on the list, 70% are being honoured for work in their communities, either in a voluntary or paid capacity.


The awards

Benita Refson, founder and president of the children’s mental health charity Place2Be and Christine Lenehan, director of the umbrella body the Council for Disabled Children, both received damehoods. Simon Robey, chair of the Royal Opera House received a knighthood.

Alison Hutchinson, chief executive of the Pennies Foundation, which collects electronic change for charities, received a CBE, as did Bharat Mehta, chief executive of the poverty and inequality charity Trust for London, Althea Efunshile, deputy chief executive of the Arts Council England and Catherine Johnstone, the former chief executive of Samaritans.

Further CBEs were awarded to David Cameron, director of Community Land Scotland; Cheryll Adams, founding director of the Institute of Health Visiting; John Crisford, former national chair of the Royal British Legion; and Bridget Warr, chief executive of the professional body the United Kingdom Home Care Association.

Meanwhile, OBEs were awarded to Eleanor Harrison, chief executive of GlobalGiving UK; Jocelyn Hillman, founder and chief executive of Working Chance; and Tanya Barron, chief executive of the children’s charity Plan UK.

Neil Martin, chief executive of the Jewish Lads’ and Girls’ Brigade; Hanif Malik, chief executive of the community charity Hamara; and Timothy Kidd, deputy UK chief commissioner of the Scout Association, were also appointed OBE.

Last but by no means least, a number of people received MBEs for their charitable work including Deborah Alsina, chief executive of Bowel Cancer UK; Elroy Palmer, team leader at the St Giles Trust; Elly Barnes, founder and chief executive of the equality charity Educate & Celebrate; Julia Upton, chief executive of the MK Community Foundation; and Elaine Nicholson, founder and chief executive of Action for Aspergers.

The full list of awards can be found here.

Related reading

GDPR slide
Platypus Control-R