Top 30 charity chief executives on social media » Charity Digital News

Top 30 charity chief executives on social media


The names of the 30 charity chief executives who have made the best use of social media over the past year were revealed on Thursday at an awards night in London, hosted by the marketing and digital communications consultant Zoe Amar and Matt Collins, managing director at the agency Platypus Digital.

Nominations were judged by a panel of charity digital leaders, comprising of Simon Blake, chief executive of the sexual health charity Brook, Lucy Caldicott, director of fundraising at the cancer charity Clic Sargent, and Dalton Leong, chief executive of the Children’s Trust.

The top 30 were not ranked in order, according to Amar, because it was difficult to distinguish between them as “we felt that his year’s 30 really raised the bar,” and the panel placed as much emphasis upon quality of interaction as on number of followers or retweets.

Amar said in a statement: “This year’s winners are pioneering the use of digital by leaders from charities of all kinds. They demonstrate how social media is now central to the skillsets of CEOs, and how having leaders on digital platforms helps charities to be more visible and transparent.”

Also speaking at the event, Collins said that charity professionals applying for chief executive positions should be active on social media because recruiters would use search engines to find them once they received their CVs to see if they had public profiles on social channels.

The list of 30 top charity CEOs on social media, in alphabetical order, with Twitter handles:

  • Debra Allcock Tyler, Directory of Social Change, @deballcocktyler
  • Deborah Alsina, Bowel Cancer UK,@DeborahAlsina
  • Cathy Ashley, Family Rights Group, @CathyAshley
  • Julie Bentley, Girlguiding, @juliebentley
  • Caron Bradshaw, Charity Finance Group, @caornlb
  • Paul Breckell, Action on Hearing Loss, @pbreckell
  • Vicky Browning, Charity Comms, @browning_vicky
  • Ava Easton, the Encephalitis Society, @encephalitisava
  • Nigel Edwards, Nuffield Trust, @nedwards_1
  • Paul Farmer, Mind, @paulfarmermind
  • Mark Flannagan, Beating Bowel Cancer, @MarkFlannCEO
  • Richard Hawkes, Scope, @R_Hawkes
  • John Hibbs, the Hibbs Lups Trust, @hibbsy
  • Helena Holt, Devon Air Ambulance Trust, @hgholt
  • Jonny Hughes, Scottish Wildlife Trust, @jonnyecology
  • Ruth Hunt, Stonewall, @ruth_hunt
  • Karen Ingala Smith, nia, @K_IngalaSmith
  • Javed Khan, Barnardo’s, @javedkhanceo
  • Kevin Kibble, the Nurture Group Network, @kevinkibble
  • Louise Macdonald, Young Scot, @louisemac
  • John May, the Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award, @johnccmay
  • Kevin Murphy, Voluntary Arts Ireland, @kpmurphy557
  • Polly Neate, Women’s Aid, @pollyn1
  • Ruth Owen, Whizzkidz @ruthowenobe
  • Lucy Perry, Hamlin Fistula Ethiopia, @LucyPerryCEO
  • Cliff Prior, UnLtd, @cliffprior
  • Janie Tregelles, Mencap, @JanTregelles
  • Peter Wanless, NSPCC, @PeterWanless
  • Imogen Ward, Lessons for Life Foundation, @imogenward
  • Jamie Ward-Smith, IVO/Do-it, @jamiewardsmith

Related reading

A graphic advertising eBay for Charity, powered by PayPal Giving Fund. It reads 'Get picked' with a picture of five apples in a row, one red in the middle and two green on each side. Underneath it the tagline reads 'Grow your donations on eBay'.
A headshot photograph of Jo Barnett, Executive Director of Virgin Money Giving.